Resolution(s)

Is it too late to make a New Year’s resolution? I say, no! Anytime is good time to resolve to make your life better!

I said last time that I want to make my resolutions this year positive and specific. First, I want to write another screenplay. I finished the one I started last year, but now I am doing a major revision of one section of it. So that is my resolution: finish this revision by the end of February, and then finish a second screenplay by the end of the year. It does me a lot of good to have a writing project to work on. Of course I would love to sell a screenplay, but right now it’s more about giving my brain something to chew on.

I swear a lot of the reason I drank was to try to shut up my brain. This is better: distracting it.

My next resolution isn’t too exciting, but it is to pay off our car early. We owe a little less than $6000 on it now, and paying it off early will do very nice things for our monthly budget. When we do that, we can start building up an emergency fund. This is something that every finance book recommends, and we always seem to find something else to do with our money. This might be a goal that will happen more in 2016, but I’m earmarking the car payment amount, as soon as the car is paid off, to go right into funding an emergency savings account – at a separate bank.

I try to check in with my financial picture once in year in January. Last year my resolution was to start keeping a monthly budget, down to the last dollar. I did this, and will continue doing it this year.

My other news is that I got diagnosed with Hashimoto’s disease, which is an autoimmune disease where your body attacks your thyroid. I put on nine pounds last year, so my doctor ordered some thyroid tests. (And here I thought it was just because I started eating ice cream again!) I am taking medication for it, and am pondering making some dietary changes as well. Based on my online research (which I know can be flawed!), an anti-inflammatory diet (mostly, no sugar or gluten) can be a good diet for people with Hashimoto’s. I have to say, I’m still in the planning stages here. 🙂 The only change I’ve made so far is to give up my granola for breakfast in favor of more protein/fat based breakfasts, with some veggies or fruit:  veggie omelets, or cottage cheese with banana, or unsweetened yogurt with blueberries mixed in.

And to anyone reading this who is pondering quitting drinking for your New Year’s resolution: GO FOR IT! I promise you won’t regret it!

6 thoughts on “Resolution(s)

  1. I’ll be following you to see the at you do with your diet.
    I have both celiac disease and arthritis. I look at the autoimmune diets sometimes, but I have not made any change yet. I am gluten free. But the rest just seems overwhelming. If diet was a guarantee maybe I would be more willing to do it.

    So for me it’s still a future plan too.

    Writing screenplays sounds pretty interesting! Nice.

    Anne

  2. I have Hashimoto’s, too. I did coeliac testing (negative) and cut out gluten for a good period of time but didn’t find it made any difference (although I did discover I might be even more addicted to pasta than I am to wine!). I have always been a healthy eater anyway so there weren’t any dramatic changes to be made. You might be on a bit of a rollercoaster while your medication settles in but a few years down the track I can say it is not the horrible life sentence I thought it might be and most days I feel pretty great – as long as I haven’t been drinking buckets of wine. I hope you feel amazing soon.

  3. Hey there,

    I have Hashimoto’s too. It runs in my family; I was diagnosed probably about 12 years ago. I tend to feel much better overall when I avoid processed carbs. Are you seeing an endocrinologist? They tend to read your blood work numbers very differently than a GP would.

    We’re working on building an emergency fund (following our financial guy’s advice) too.

    Writing a screenplay sounds fascinating!

    Love your blog – it’s one of the first ones I stumbled upon when I decided to quit, 184 days ago.

    All the best,

    Mary

  4. Thanks, all! It’s nice to hear from other people with Hashimoto’s. No, I haven’t been to an endocrinologist. My GP said it might be worth going, and I think I will.

    I also think processed carbs don’t really agree with me. I know I have always been a bit sensitive to sugar. At the moment I’m working on eliminating, or at least minimizing, processed food in general, and eating more whole foods, especially veggies. It would be nice to take off those nine pounds. I went in to get my thyroid levels checked after 2 months on the medication, and I had dropped three. So that’s something.

  5. I just read your blog from start to finish. There were moments when I believed that you must be inside my head somehow, like an online embodiment of myself, sent from the universe to give me hope.

    I drank yesterday and all of the yesterdays before that for way too long now. I’m not going to drink today. I don’t know about tomorrow yet.

    Thank you for your blog. Words cannot describe how profoundly it has affected me.

    Faith x

    • I’m so glad this blog helped you, Faith. And believe me, you can do it. Just be good to yourself, that’s the most important thing. This is a good thing you’re doing, and you need to be nice to yourself!

Leave a Reply

